Submissions now open for the 2024 edition!

  • June 01, 2024

LAUSANNE, June 1, 2024 - The International Sports Press Association (AIPS) is thrilled to announce the launch of the 7th edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards, the highest accolade in the sports media industry. From today and until 4 November 2024, sports journalists, photographers, and broadcasters from around the world are invited to send up to two submissions for consideration in the world's most prestigious sports media awards. All submissions need to have their first publication/release in the window that goes from 5 November 2023 to 4 November 2024.

This year's awards continue the tradition of recognising excellence in sports journalism across all possible platforms and under different categories, including writing, photography, audio, and video. The AIPS Sport Media Awards celebrate the dedication, talent, and impactful storytelling that brings the world of sports to life.

Submissions Open: 1 June 2024
Submission Deadline: 4 November 2024
Period of validity for submissions: 5 November 2023 – 4 November 2024

Participants can submit their two entries via the official AIPS Sport Media Awards website at Detailed submission guidelines and category descriptions are available on the website to help entrants prepare their submissions.

Each eligible award consists of an original trophy and prize money of USD 8.000 for the winner; the second placed will receive USD 3.000 and the third placed USD 2.000 in Photography ("Sport Action" and "Portfolio"), Writing ("Best Column" and "Best Colour Piece"), “Audio” and Video ("Athlete Profile", “Documentary" and “Short feature”) categories. Winners of each of the “Young Reporters” categories (Photography, Writing and Broadcasting) will receive a career-boost opportunity: a scholarship in a major international sports event. “Young Reporters” categories do not include second and third place. “Special Awards” are not open to submissions. Winners will be awarded a trophy, without prize money. The “Special Awards” categories do not include second and third place.

The AIPS Sport Media Awards provide a unique platform for sports journalists to showcase their work on an international stage. Winners and runners-up will receive global recognition, and the opportunity to network with leading professionals in the sports media industry. In addition to the prestige, winners will also receive valuable prizes. Continental rankings are also published in order to highlight the best quality on a regional level.


Writing Best Column (opinion piece)

Writing Best Color Piece (features and reportage)

Audio (radio and podcasts)

Video Short Feature (up to 10 minutes)

Video Athlete Profile (more than 10 minutes)

Video Documentary (more than 10 minutes)

Photography Sport Action (one photo)

Photography Portfolio (three to five photos)

Young Reporters Under 30 (Writing, Photography & Broadcast)

The competition is open to professional journalists, photographers, and broadcasters worldwide who are 18 years and older. Submissions must be original work published or broadcast between November 5, 2023, and November 4, 2024. Participants for the Young Reporters category must be born on or after January 1, 1996. It is not possible to make two different submissions in the Young Reporters category.


The Awards will be judged by a Jury of 12 esteemed professionals, including the President of the Jury, drawn from leading sports media organizations. AIPS president Gianni Merlo chooses the jurors.

The AIPS Executive Committee will shortlist ten candidates for each category, from which the Jury will select three finalists. These finalists will be invited to the final ceremony in 2025. The Jury, meeting the day before the ceremony, has the authority to accept, substitute, or reject nominations and may offer its own suggestions in extraordinary circumstances. Certificates of achievement and special commendations will be awarded to noteworthy entrants who did not make the final.

The AIPS upholds values such as defending human rights and gender equality, fighting racism and discrimination, promoting clean sports, and highlighting the importance of mental health, among others.

Last year, the AIPS Sport Media Awards received 1880 entries from a record of 140 countries, highlighting the incredible diversity and talent within the global sports media community. This year, we are eager to see the innovative and inspiring work that will define the 2024 awards.

For any inquiries or further information, please visit or contact the AIPS Sport Media Awards team at

Don't miss your chance to be part of this prestigious event. Submit your best work and take your place among the world's top sports journalists. We look forward to celebrating your stories and achievements at the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2024!

About AIPS
The International Sports Press Association (AIPS) was founded in 1924 and serves as the voice of sports media professionals worldwide. AIPS works to uphold the highest standards of sports journalism and support the professional development of sports journalists around the globe.

Mark your calendars and start preparing your submissions. The countdown to the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2024 begins now!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.