AIPS Sport Media Awards: the Top 10 ranking in Photography

  • February 14, 2020
The three awardees in the category Photography Sport Action (L) Ganbat Chuluunbaatar (3rd), Juan Arboleda (1st) and Anastasiia Suslina (representing the 2nd placed Zhuang Hu) awarded by President of IJF Marius Vizer and AIPS First Vice President E. Ylmaer

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, February 14, 2020 - After the AIPS Sport Media Awards ceremony held in Budapest on February 3rd 2020, in which winners across the 9 categories have been awarded, AIPS is proud to release the Top 10 ranking for each category, to pay tribute to all the journalists who created high-quality contents, increasing the yet remarkable standards of the first edition.

Let's start with Photography. The AIPS Awards received this year 461 submissions in Photography. Here is the list of the photographers who made it into the top ten, passing through several steps of evaluations from a jury of quality and experienced professionals. The list contain ties in 10th position.

1st Prize Juan Arboleda (Colombia), You set the limits – AFP
2nd Prize Zhuang Wu (China), Chinese boxer Xu Can - Xinhua
3rd Prize Ganbat Chuluunbaatar (Mongolia), Before a catch! - Mongolian Sports Press Union
4. Norbert Schmidt (Germany), Nothing can stop me - KICKER online
5. Juergen Feichter (Austria), Star Wars - EXPA Pictures
6. Rodrigo Jimenez Torrellas (Spain), The tackles - Agencia EFE
7. Franck Fife (France), Dune – AFP
8. Domenic Aquilina (Malta), Messi! - Vesti-Online via European Press Photo Agency
9. Vincent Riemersma (The Netherlands), Sunrise Peloton - Algemeen Dagblad
10. Lucy Nicholson (USA), Australian Open 2 - Reuters
10. Anke Waelischmiller (Germany), Tongue out - Fotoagentur Sven Simon

The three awardees in the category Photography Portfolio (L) Roman Vondrouš (1st), Eszter Kaszperne Dorogi (representing 2nd placed Adam Pretty) and Sergey Kivrin (3rd) awarded by IOC Memeber Pal Schmitt and President of AIPS Africa Obi Mitchell

1st Prize Roman Vondrouš (Czech Republic), Horse racing - Czech News Agency
2nd Prize Adam Pretty (Australia), Infinite trails - Getty Images
3rd Prize Sergey Kivrin (Russia), Nomad Games. Gedebey, Azerbaijan - Azerbaijan Airlines Magazine
4. Justin Setterfield (United Kingdom), Road cycling portfolio of images from around the world – Photography
5.Naeem Ahmadi (Iran), Double standard - Iran varzeshi
6.Stefan Wermuth (Switzerland), Portfolio - Reuters, AFP, BernerZeitung BZ
7.Alexander Hassenstein (Germany), Dohas track and field - Getty Images
8.Andy Cheung (Australia), Light, emotion story telling - UK Tennis Magazine
9.Moritz Mueller (Germany), Dancing -
10.Scott Barbour (New Zealand), Australian Open Tennis 2019 - Australian Associated Press
10.Adnan El Hage Ali (Lebanon), Women fight bad weather - Al Akhbar
10.Julian Finney (United Kingdom), Sport - Getty Images
10.Patrick B. Kraemer (Switzerland), Aquatics - European Pressphoto Agency


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.