AIPS Sport Media Awards: the Top 10 ranking in Video

  • February 17, 2020
The three awardees in the category Video Athlete Profile (L) Marissa Boyajian (representing 1st placed Matthew Allen), Claus Frederiksen (3rd) and Ben Unger (2nd) awarded by Balázs Fürjes and AIPS Nickolai Dolgopolov (Photo - AIPS Media)

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, February 17, 2020 - After the AIPS Sport Media Awards ceremony held in Budapest on February 3rd 2020, in which winners across the 9 categories have been awarded, AIPS is proud to release the Top 10 ranking for each category, to pay tribute to all the journalists who created high-quality contents, increasing the yet remarkable standards of the first edition.

The Video cateogory recorded a remarkable increase in quality this year. A total of 261 videos have been sent, with the new category Short Feature - which has been chosen 143 times - turning out to be a very appreciated novelty. Here is the list of the journalists who made it into the top ten, passing through several steps of evaluations from a jury of quality and experienced professionals.

1st Prize Matthew Allen (USA), Birthright: becoming Toby Dawson - NBC Sports Group
2nd Prize Ben Unger (Germany), Pelé from Neubrandenburg - NDR TV
3rd Prize Claus Frederiksen (Denmark), The gold Jacket - From Struer to Hall of Fame - Nordisk Film Cinemas, TV 2 sport Denmark
4. Matthew Allen (USA), Drive like Andretti - NBC Sports Group
5. Wenxiu Jia, Hongtao Liu, Boxuan Sun, Jing Zeng, Wei Xu (China), This is me - Tencent Sports
6. Stuart Pollitt (United Kingdom), The making of Tommy Fleetwood - BBC      
7. Zabihullah Shahzaad (Afghanistan), Who is Rohullah Nikpa? A star was born in a war-torn country and became the legend of Afghanistan - Afghanistan Sports Journalists Federation  
8. Gounou Ikilirou Séro (Benin), Diane Beldose l'Arc-en-Ciel of Parakou - ORTB
9. Viktor Tihany (Hungary), Mum, The champion – MTVA
10. Ivo Costa (Portugal), Sea sound - Sport TV

The three awardees in the category Video Documentary (holding the trophy from the left) Marissa Boyajian ( for Jack Felling), Sarah Thompson ( for Stan Grant) and Stuart Pollitt (1st) awarded by President of World Athletics Sebastian Coe (L) and President of AIPS Europe Charles Camenzuli

1st Prize Stuart Pollitt (United Kingdom), The Kennedy who changed the world - BBC
2nd Prize Stan Grant (Australia), The Australian dream - Lorton Entertainment
3rd Prize John Felling (USA), 1968 Roundtable- NBC Sports Network
4. Omar Boudi (Algeria), Documentary on youth and stadiums in Algeria - Ways of expression - Echorouk TV
5. Sandy Mair (United Kingdom), ‘Derby Days Superclásico - The biggest game of all time’- COPA90
6. Benoit Pensivy (France), Home field advantage (3W - What a Wonderful World) - La Chaine L'Equipe
7. André Keil (Germany), Kraftakt - NDR TV
8. Mohammad Farahpour (Iran), I'm Roberto Baggio, From IRAN - IRIB Varzesh
9. Hui Fang (China), Chinese traditional sports project documentary series: martial arts in Emei -        
10. Joanna Lester (United Kingdom), Power Meri (Powerful Women) - Media Stockad

The three awardees in the category Video Short Feature (L) Basile Roze (3rd), Marissa Boyajian (2nd) and Andrew Leibman (1st) awared by Chairman of HengYuanXiang Liu Ruiqi and President of AIPS America Gabriel Cazenave

1st Prize Andrew Leibman (USA), Sign at all times: A film about Brian Estrada - Leibman Productions
2nd Prize Marissa Boyajian (USA), Hope: The Gabe Grunewald story - NBC Sports
3rd Prize Basile Roze (France), Legends live on: Matthias Steiner - Olympic Channel
4. Diego Vivanco (Spain), Modern football - Sombrero
5. Zhe Sun (China), Eagle on tightrope - Xinhua News Agency
6. Maziyar Koopidar (Iran), Iranian girls outside stadium – Youtube
7. Bawuah Juliet (Ghana), In the fist of a young talent: the 'Mayweather' story - TV3 Network
8. Maher Mezahi (Algeria), How Algerian football fans helped topple a dictator - Copa 90
9. Giulia Bassi (Italy), Happy birthday Sic: dad Paolo tells about Marco Simoncelli - Primopiano,, Blitztv -
10. Andrew Binner (United Kingdom), Ramla Ali: the Somali boxer who escaped war to become a champion - Olympic Channel


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.