FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

  • May 04, 2020

Submissions open, your questions answered: everything you need to know about the AIPS Sport Media Awards


Do I have to be a member of AIPS in order to participate?

No, AIPS membership is not required. Participation is open to all professional journalists, video makers and photographers, from the 160 countries represented in the AIPS structure.


When is the deadline for submitting for the current edition?

You have time to submit until October 7, 2020, at 18:00 Central European Time. If your work is not in English and does not have a translation, we very much advise you to submit as soon as possible.


Which are the valid dates for publication?

All stories, videos, audios or photographs must have been first published or premiered between October 8, 2019, and October 7, 2020. Reproductions or republished material from an earlier date will not be taken into consideration.


Are media team submissions allowed?

No, all submissions are individual. The AIPS Sport Media Awards do not establish quotas for participation within the same media. Employees and freelancers are equally welcome to participate.


Can I submit in any language?

The official language of the Awards is English, but you can submit in any language. An English translation is advisable, but not customary.


What happen if I don’t send an English translation of my submission?

All non-English submissions that do not have an English translation will be screened by a native speaker belonging to the screening panel of experts, the Executive Committee, the Jury or a representative of the respective national association. If found valuable, it will be fully translated to English via a professional service. For audio and video submissions, in the event of qualifying to the final round, entrants might be asked for the script or subtitles in the original language.


Which are the main categories in the AIPS Sport Media Awards?

There are 8 main categories, as follows: two for Photography (1-Photo Action, 2-Portfolio), two for Writing (3-Best Column, 4-Best Colour Piece), one for Audio (5-Audio), three for Video (6-Short Feature, 7-Athlete Profile, 8-Documentary).


What are the specifications for each category?

Photography: One picture for Photo Action, Three to five pictures for Portfolio. Writing: no word limit; books excerpts are not allowed. Audio: audio shows, podcasts and commentary allowed, no time limit. Video: Short Feature, up to 10 minutes of lenght. Ahtlete Profile and Documentary: Starting from 10 minutes without maximum limit.


What are the prizes for the 8 main categories?

Winners of each category will receive a US$ 8,000 prize plus a commemorative trophy. Second-placed will earn US$ 3,000 and third-placed, US$ 2,000.


What is the Young Reporter Under 30 category?

The Young Reporter category is a special optional category that does not entitle to money prize, reserved for those that were born since January 1, 1991. The Young Reporter Under 30 category is split into three: 1-Best Young Reporter in Photography (one sports photo), 2-Best Young Reporter in Writing (one article) 3-Best Young Reporter in Broadcasting (a submission in audio or video). These categories will select a direct winner, without second or third place. He/she will earn a scholarship in a top international sporting event.


How many submissions per person are allowed?

Only two submissions per person are allowed. All submissions must be sent using the website, www.aipsawards.com. Each submission must be sent in a separate entry form.


Can I participate in two different categories?

You can, as long as your participation complies with the Rules of participation, including your professional status.


Can I submit two works for the Young Reporter Under 30 category?

No, out of the two available submissions per person, only one is allowed to participate in the Young Reporter Under 30 category. Entrants are free to use the remaining one in any of the main categories.


Can I send the two submissions in the same entry form?
No. Each submission should be made in a separate entry form, informing title, a short intro, link (if applicable) and supporting material (proof of publication, translation, PDFs, audio or video files). If two submissions are found in the same entry form, users will be asked to correct it before deadline. If two or more submissions are found in the same form, they will not be taken into consideration.


I was winner/finalist in the previos editions, can I still participate?

Definitely, you can.


How does the selection process work?

All submissions are screened and reviewed by a panel of AIPS experts. The first voting process corresponds to the 24 members of the Executive Committee. The highest rated works and the most voted ones go to the second round, in which the 11 members of the Jury narrow the list down in two voting stages (Top 10, Top 3) to eventually decide the three that will go to the final. The day before the ceremony, the Jury meets again and vote for the winners.


Where did the previous ceremonies take place?

The opening ceremony (January 2019) was held in Lausanne, Switzerland, the Olympic capital as well as the city where the AIPS headquarters were based. IOC president Thomas Bach gave the opening speech. The second edition (February 2020) was held in Budapest, Hungary, with the participation of FIFA president Gianni Infantino.


When will the ceremony take place?

It is scheduled for February 2021, in location to be announced depending on the circumstances that the world is facing with the coronavirus pandemic.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.