AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021 category presentation: Photography Sport Action

  • June 08, 2021

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, June 8, 2021 – From figuring out the kind of camera to use to setting up in the best position possible, while anticipating the action of fast-moving subjects, sports photography is as challenging as it is exciting. And there is hardly ever a second chance to get that one iconic shot of a fleeting moment.

The AIPS Sport Media Awards, which has been an incredible showcase for the best sports photos from all corners of the world, is inviting all professional sports photographers to take part in its fourth edition which opened in April and will run until October 4, 2021.

The photography categories are: Sport Action and Portfolio.

For Sport Action, which is the focus of this article, an applicant is expected to submit “an image that depicts a moment of excellence or athletic skill from a particular sporting event.”

Participation is free and each person can submit a maximum of two submissions published between November 10, 2020 and October 4, 2021 for a chance to win 8,000 US Dollars for the first place, 3,000 US Dollars for the second place and 2,000 US Dollars for the third place.

Click here for ten steps to join


Polish photographer Andrzej Grygiel’s submission “Crash” claimed first place in the last edition of the Awards. It captured the horrific accident that occurred at the finish line of the Tour de Poland cycling race after Dutch cyclist Fabio Jakobsen, who was in first place, was hit and sent into the barriers by compatriot Dylan Groenewegen. Jakobsen had to be put in a medically induced coma for three days. Fortunately, he has recovered well. Groenewegen received a nine-month suspension for his action.

As Grygiel pointed out to AIPS in an interview after his win, no one wishes for such an incident to happen, he however hoped that his photo will remind athletes that “the will to win should not obscure the rules of fair play”.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.