AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021 category presentation: Writing Best Colour Piece

  • June 14, 2021

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, June 14, 2021 - The Writing category of the AIPS Sport Media Awards entails the brilliant use of the written word to convey comprehensive information about the performances, personalities, politics and other elements that shape the world of sports - from on-the-field action to behind-the-scenes drama.

All sports writers are invited to take part in the fourth edition of the Awards, which will run until October 4, 2021. Without language barriers the AIPS Sport Media Awards have been an incredible platform for the best sports storytellers from all corners of the world.

The Writing categories are: Best Colour Piece and Best Column

For Best Colour Piece, which is the focus of this article, an applicant is expected to submit “an article that captures the emotion of an occasion in and around the sporting world, and that shows preparation, creativity, outstanding reporting and a flair for storytelling”.

Participation is free and each person can enter a maximum of two submissions published between November 10, 2020 and October 4, 2021, in any language, for a chance to win 8,000 US Dollars for the first place, 3,000 US Dollars for the second place and 2,000 US Dollars for the third place.

Click here for ten steps to join.


Norwegian Bernt Jakob Oksnes’ “Mom is Dying” topped this category in the 2020 edition of the Awards. The poignant life story and thrilling piece of narrative journalism is about one of skiing's dark, unknown dramas: Why did the ski coach and mother of three, Toril Stokkebø (48), die of aggressive cancer? The doctors suggested that the cancer was due to her 15 years of ski waxing for hundreds of children. “Mom is Dying” is the main story in a series about the health risks linked to fluorinated ski wax, which led to a sensational decision by the International Ski Federation to ban fluorine in all global ski competitions.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.