AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021 category presentation: Writing Best Column

  • June 18, 2021

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, 17, 2021 – AIPS is inviting all professional sports writers to take part in the fourth edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards in the Best Colour Piece and/or the Best Column categories.

For Best Column, an applicant is expected to submit “an article that shows a knowledgeable opinion and that demonstrates research, relevance, authority and an original view on a topic.” 

Read about Best Colour here.

Participation is free and each person can submit a maximum of two submissions published between November 10, 2020 and October 4, 2021, in any language, for a chance to win 8,000 US Dollars for the first place, 3,000 US Dollars for the second place and 2,000 US Dollars for the third place.

Click here for ten steps to join


In a powerful standout column for Telegraph Women’s Sport in June 2020, during the Black Lives Matter movement, British sprinter and 200m world champion Dina Asher-Smith details how racism impacts every aspect of her life – from having people assume her mother and father are divorced, to not being able to find the right shade of foundation for a darker skin tone, or being followed by security guards around a shop because, as a Black woman, they see her as a potential criminal before seeing her as a customer. “Think racism hasn’t affected me? It’s there almost every day” by Asher-Smith won the Best Column award in the 2020 edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards. In an interview with AIPS, she revealed “it was very difficult to write about something very, very personal”, however she is proud of having the chance “to effect change and make the next steps for the next generation easier and better”:  “Everybody in the world has the right to use their platform in whatever way they want, but for me I do feel somewhat responsible to use it to make other people’s lives a bit easier.”


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.