Reminder: 40 days to submit your work

  • August 26, 2021

AIPS Media

AIPS is calling all sport media professionals to participate in the 2021 edition of the prestigious AIPS Sport Media Awards, the prize dedicated to celebrate the best of sports journalism around the world.

With 8 senior categories (all offering US$ 8,000 for each winner, US$ 3,000 for the second placed and US$ 2,000 for the third placed), the Awards guarantee that all areas of journalism are highlighted, from print media to digital journalism, from action photography to portfolios, from video documentaries to social media videos and from traditional radio to podcasts.

As always, participation is free and each individual has the possibility of submitting two works across all categories. AIPS membership is not required to participate. All valid works must have been first published or broadcast from November 10, 2020, to October 4, 2021.

Submission period closes on October 4, 2021, at 6pm Central European Time. All submissions need to be uploaded directly in the website,


In the first three editions, the Awards had winners from all continents. Last edition alone, with 129 countries represented in 1786 submissions, marked the first African winner, Clarisse Sih, from South Africa.

What’s more, the Awards have no distinction when it comes to languages: with a multilingual Jury and five different voting stages, all languages are accepted. No other prize can claim to have such international spirit.

The five voting stages involving a panel of specialists and AIPS mentors, Executive Committee members and the members of the Jury, guarantee a thorough and dedicated process in which all submissions are reviewed, rated and voted by pundits from 38 countries, so no submission is left behind.

If your work is not in English, we highly recommend that you submit as soon as possible, in order to start the professional translation into English, if applicable.

After the ceremony, scheduled for early 2022, AIPS also publishes the continental ranking per category, in order to celebrate the best performers in their own region, all getting a certificate of merit signed by AIPS president Gianni Merlo.


The eight senior categories are split into Photography (Action Picture; Portfolio), Writing (Best Column; Best Colour Piece), Video (Short Feature up to 10 minutes; Athlete Profile +10min; Documentary +10 min).


Those born in or after 1992 have the possibility to allocate on of their two submissions and participate in the Young Reporters Under 30 category, split into Photography, Writing and Broadcasting. This category offers a scholarship at a top international event, with all expenses covered.

You can check all the rules in several languages in the website, and contact us on social media if you have any questions or need assistance.

Register, upload your work and in less than 10 minutes, you will be participating in the global festival of sports journalism. Submit now!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.