Reminder: Last 20 days for submitting your work to the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021

  • October 17, 2021

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, October 14, 2021 - With more than 100 countries already represented, the AIPS Sport Media Awards enter the last three weeks of participation for the 2021 edition. The submission period closes on November 4, 6:00 PM Central European Time.

Participation is free for all sport media professionals, from photography to broadcasting and writing in all its forms. Each of the eight existing categories guarantees a top prize of US$ 8,000, 2nd prize of 3,000 and 3rd prize of 2,000.  

Traditional and new media. Each individual can send up to two works across all categories, if published or broadcast since November 10, 2020. Traditional and new media are both accepted, meaning from film, photo agencies and print publications to podcasts, social media and blogs.

Under 30. As an entry-level, there’s also the Young Reporters Under 30 category, which allows winners to cover a top international event with an AIPS scholarship. Those born in or after 1992 can allocate one of their two submissions to compete in this optional category.

Continental rankings. To reach the final of the AIPS Sport Media Awards, works are subject to five voting stages performed by 40 top professionals representing the best of the sports media industry in 36 countries. The highest-ranked works are also split by continent, in order to enhance, promote and celebrate quality journalism on a regional level.

Languages? All! While English is the official language of the Awards, all languages are accepted. In the event of receiving a submission in a foreign language, we guarantee that it will be judged by a mother tongue and translated into English if it reaches the final stages. You can supply an optional English translation, too.

Categories. The 8 senior categories are divided into Writing (Best Column; Best Colour Piece), Photography (Action Photo; Portfolio), Video (Short Feature, Athlete Profile, Documentary) and Audio (for all types of audio reports, podcasts, radio). In addition, there is a Young Reporters Under 30 category, optional for those born after January 1, 1992, and split into Photography, Writing and Broadcasting (Audio & Video).

The only global award for sports journalism. In the first three editions, the AIPS Sport Media Awards have shown incredible diversity, having received works from more than 100 countries each year.

One website does it all. In order to submit, first, you need to sign up at and, once you’ve created your own profile, you can click on ‘add submission’, select category and sub-category, upload your work (links or files), add media name, proof of publication, and then submit. Works cannot be submitted by email or social media.

Italy 2022 gala. The podium ceremony of the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021 will take place in March 2022 in Italy, date and venue to be confirmed depending on the evolution of the pandemic. The first ceremony was held in Lausanne, Switzerland, in 2019. The second edition had its ceremony in Budapest, Hungary, in 2020. The third gala was a virtual ceremony from the medieval castle of Vigevano, Italy, in 2021.

A quick recap, then. The AIPS Sport Media Awards are accepting all works in any language first published in or after November 10, 2020, until November 4, 2021. The final deadline for submitting is November 4, 2021, at 18:00 Central European Time. All media professionals are invited to participate in any of the 8 senior categories, or the 3 sub-categories for Young Reporters under 30, regardless of the working status. After each of the five voting stages, AIPS will publish the names of the journalists that have subsequently advanced to the next round, from longlists to shortlists, then Top 10, Top 3 and the Final Podium, which guarantees prizes from US$ 2,000 to US$ 8,000 depending on the final position. After the ceremony, in March 2022, we will also publish the continental rankings for each category.

Have you submitted? Don’t miss out!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.