Continental rankings 2021: Top 10 in every category

  • June 21, 2022

LAUSANNE, June 21, 2022 - A week after delivering the winners for the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2021 edition at Khalifa International Stadium in Doha, Qatar, AIPS is proud to announce the continental rankings based on the entrants’ nationality.

These rankings show how participants performed in their own continent, and are prepared taking into account the votes from the AIPS panel of experts, the Executive Committee members and the Jury.

Therefore, the higher the ranking, the more votes it has received and the more it has progressed over the five voting stages of the AIPS Sport Media Awards.

To check rankings from AFRICA click here.

To check rankings from THE AMERICAS click here.

To check rankings from ASIA click here.

To check rankings from EUROPE click here.

To check rankings from OCEANIA click here.

The continental rankings always represent the entrant’s nationality. So, for example, Marcela Mora y Araujo, an Argentinian writing for The Guardian (UK) appears in the Americas’ ranking with her article Diego’s sleeping, second prize in the Best Column category.

If two or more people with different nationalities worked on the same story, we take into account the details of the one that submitted the story. So, in the case of the ultramarathon story that won the first prize in Best Colour Piece, co-written by Wufei Yu (China) and Will Ford (USA), submitted by Wufei Yu, the story appears in the Asia rankings.

We believe the continental rankings are another impulse to the profession, celebrating the best storytellers on a regional level. We encourage the national associations of each country to value, acknowledge and pay tribute to the best performers on each country. The AIPS Sport Media Awards are the only global award for sports journalism, with 133 countries represented in the last edition.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.