Longlist announcement for Audio

  • March 15, 2023
LAUSANNE, March 15, 2023 - The AIPS Sport Media Awards are pleased to announce the longlist for the Audio category.

The longlist represents the first judging stage and is based on the average ratings of the AIPS panel of specialists, the Executive Committee members and the members of the Jury.

Find out more about the judging stages here.

Disclaimer: All names and information have been published as we have received them, for any corrections please contact us at info@aipsawards.com.

Here are the selected works, in alphabetical order of country:

Smail Berhail (Algeria), When football served the Algerians' quest for freedom - Radio Algérie international

Emiliano Nunia (Argentina), Juan Carlos Unzué: Example of overcoming an irreversible disease like ALS | Sergio Scariolo: The man who tame his ego and continues to accumulate success with the Spanish Team - Radio Villa Trinidad (97.9), Super Deportivo Radio

Bianca Roberts, Ciaran O'Mahony (Australia), Felicite Rwemarika: The refugee who became a pioneer for women’s sport in Rwanda - Roberts O'Mahony Productions

James Graham, Jessica Halloran, Jasper Leak, Claire Harvey, Lia Tsamoglou (Australia), Head Noise - The Australian

Gaone Pearl Kerileng (Botswana), Raising awareness about Anti-doping - Gabz FM and Gazette Stringer

Greg Kelly, Peter Brown (Canada), Lloyd Percival: Canada's Sports Prophet - CBC Radio One

Rolf Steve Domia-Leu Bohoula (Central African Republic), Street football in Bangui - RFI

Santiago Aristizábal Pino (Colombia), Special | Central American dream - Cap 1 Santiago Gómez Castrillón - Podcast Fútbol Sonoro

Ronny Blaschke (Germany), Racism in professional sports - WDR5

Tim Brockmeier, Phil Hofmeister (Germany), Shocking attacks on German radio commentators during UEFA Europa League semifinals - ARD Radio

Moritz Cassalette, Martin Seidemann (Germany), Jan Ullrich temporary hero - Norddeutscher Rundfunk

Meha Bhardwaj (India), Mind Over Medals Podcast: ‘Hated who I'd become. Didn't look in the mirror for a year’ - News9live

Prarthana Hazarika (India), Mental health of sportsperson – Spotify

Dario Ricci (Italy), In the skies for gold and for the Duce: acrobatic flight at the Berlin Games 1936 | From the Champions Cup to the trenches: Sarajevo, the heart of Europe - Radio 24

Rasha Al Bargouthi (Jordan), Did Real Madrid star Karim Benzema become the best striker in the world? - Alkass TV

Ruth Keah (Kenya), Girls continue their education through the Rabai-Kenya soccer game - Rahma Broadcasting Limited

Shadrack Andenga Odinga (Kenya), Holy unholy football - Mediamax limited

Seydi Saikou (Senegal), Recycling in football clubs in Senegal - TV

Nina Smole (Slovenia), The current status of women in sport - Radio Slovenia

Esther Collado Beneyto (Spain), Teika's podcast - Tribuna Deportiva

Jose David Isabel Lopez (Spain), Uruguay no more | Football when you are San Marino - Audible  

Kangni Follykoe (Togo), Doping in athletes, a public health problem: causes and risks - Sport FM

Mugume Rwakaringi (Uganda), Jagwe Musafaru reviving hopes of sight impaired in Uganda through football - Voice of America

Chris Brown (UK), My Defining Moments - Episode 21 - Nathan Adrian - IMG Media

Edward Knowles (UK), Olympic Channel Podcast: Oyuna Uranchimeg. Finding strength in adverse times – Freelance

Kayley Thomas (UK), Transfer: The Emiliano Sala Story - BBC Wales

Andrew Bernstein (USA), Legends Of Sport podcast with co-founder and host Andrew D. Bernstein - Legends Of Sport

Benjamin Payne (USA), The business of ‘Banana Ball’: How the Savannah Bananas are changing baseball in Georgia and beyond - Georgia Public Broadcasting

Ari Saperstein (USA), Blind Landing: “Out on the ice” - Blind Landing

Sebastián Moreira (Uruguay), Death of a star - Julio Cesar Benítez - Por Decir Algo - M24

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Following this longlist, we will announce the shortlist and subsequently the finalists. The final ceremony will take place in Seoul on May 9, 2023.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.