Shortlist announcement for Video Documentary

  • March 27, 2023

LAUSANNE, March 27, 2023 - The AIPS Sport Media Awards are pleased to announce the shortlist for the Video Documentary category.

The shortlist represents the second judging stage and is based on the preferences of the AIPS Executive Committee members.

Find out more about the judging stages here.

Disclaimer: All names and information have been published as we have received them, for any corrections please contact us at

Here are the selected works, in alphabetical order of country:

Omar Boudi, Zoheir Boudi (Algeria), The sudden cardiac death (The football tragedy) - Echorouk TV

Sergio Ferraro (Argentina), Sean Eternos: Champions of America - Pegsa / Netflix

Chris Danks (Australia), George Kambosos Jr: Rise of the Emperor - The Sporting News

Matthias Stelzmüller (Austria), Skate the World – The jump - DailySports / Skate the World

Dario Mehmedovic (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Rođeni - RTV FBiH

Rodrigo Araujo (Brazil), The reserves of 82' - Globo

Gustavo Rotstein (Brazil), Football and religion - TV Globo

Zhi Wu (China), Meet Wang Shuang: Footballer of China - Xinhua News Agency

Andres Posse, Stephanie Bates (Colombia), Champions of life - Primera Voz

Nicklas Vinde (Denmark), Handball Diaries - Kielce - DAZN

Aziza Nait Sibaha (France), Atlas Lionesses: Hear them roar - Taja Sport

Nick Golüke (Germany), Felix Neureuther: Playing with fire, who still needs this Olympia? - NGLOW Film and New Media Gmbh

Christoph Nahr (Germany), My Games: Munich 72 – ARD

Jürgen Schmidt (Germany), Horst Eckel: The last hero of Bern - Südwestrundfunk

Benjamin Unger (Germany), Olympics 1972: The GDR and the terror - NDR

Kata Olah (Hungary), Conquering time Agnes Keleti - Makabor Studio

Balint Toth (Hungary), Kristóf Milák - The Prophecy - MTVA

Jonathan Taylor (Ireland), On Edge - Olympic Channel

Shadrack Andenga Odinga (Kenya), Tear of terrorism in sports - Mediamax limited

Oluwatobi Ayinde (Nigeria), Pitch of dreams - Yes FM, Nigeria

Mariano Amiune (Spain), 72: A gathering of champions - Olympic Channel

Rebeca Arevalo (Spain), A brilliant curling - Olympic Channel

Pau Mitjans (Spain), My decision, by Andrés Iniesta - NSN

Oleksiy Mandziy, Serhii Zakharchenko (Ukraine), Sports facilities in Chernihiv destroyed by the Russian aggressor - JSC (Public Broadcasting Company of Ukraine)

Volodymyr Mula (Ukraine), The Football Nation - TeleProstir Studio

David Garrido (UK), Football's toughest opponent - Sky Sports

Louis Myles (UK), Croatia: Defining a nation - FIFA+

Claire Ryan (UK), Rob Burrow: Living with MND - BBC

David Tryhorn (UK), The Figo affair: The transfer that changed football – Netflix

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Following this shortlist, we will announce the top 10 and subsequently the finalists.

The final ceremony will take place in Seoul on May 9, 2023.

Stay tuned for the rest of the shortlists!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.