Shortlist announcement for Photography Sport Action

  • March 29, 2023

LAUSANNE, March 30, 2023 - The AIPS Sport Media Awards are pleased to announce the shortlist for the Photography Sport Action category.

The shortlist represents the second judging stage and is based on the preferences of the AIPS Executive Committee members.

Find out more about the judging stages here.

Disclaimer: All names and information have been published as we have received them, for any corrections please contact us at

Here are the selected works, in alphabetical order of country:

Cameron Spencer (Australia), Orbit - Getty Images
Christian Bruna (Austria), At the rainbow - European Pressphoto Agency
Erwin Scheriau (Austria), Cooldown - Austria Press Agency
Jan De Meuleneir (Belgium), The birds -
Armin Durgut (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Mostar Old Bridge diving - Associated Press
Leandro Amorim (Brazil), Parisian shower - Getty Images
Werther Santana (Brazil), Step to the top - Jornal O Estado de S. Paulo
Lucio Tavora (Brazil), Flown - Xinhua News Agency
Michal Cerveny (Czech Republic), Suffering - WeLoveCycling
Roman Vondrouš (Czech Republic), Golden Olympic ride of Ester Ledecka - Czech News Agency
Ayman Aref (Egypt), Morocco vs Algeria: FIFA Arab Cup Qatar 2021 - Getty Images
Gladys Chai Von der Laage (Germany), Victory Scream - Chai von der Laage
Márton Merész (Hungary), Team power | Impact - Népszava
Miklós Szabó (Hungary), Sandi - Nemzeti Sport
Anna Szilágyi (Hungary), Twist - Associated Press
Atul Kamble (India), Handicap bodybuilders - Mid-day Infomedia limited
Parto Joghataee (Iran), Beach handball -
Mehdi Nasiri (Iran), The presence of Iranian women in the stadium - Ilna news agency
Luca Bettini (Italy), Charge! - Sprint Cycling Agency
Simone Castrovillari (Italy), Life bubble - Simone Castrovillari (Instagram)
Ahmad Al-Ameen (Jordan), A face down tie-up - Jordan Olympic Committee
Kelly Ayodi (Kenya), When they go low you lower - Sportpicha Ltd
Wong Fok Loy (Malaysia), Malaysian Waterskier World Games - EyePress Newswire
Sergio Ivan Caro Torres (Mexico), Overwhelming - Boxing Magazine Japan
Pim Ras (Netherlands), C'nose contact! - AD Sportwereld
Chris Symes (New Zealand), Rugby Player Tackle - Chris Symes
Vegard Grøtt (Norway), Fog celebration - Bildbyrån
Rio Leonelle Deluvio (Philippines), Game of clones - Daily Tribune
Attila Szabo (Romania), Romaniacs hard enduro - Red Bull Content Pool | Formulahu
Alexey Filippov (Russia), Biathlon - RIA Novosti
Andrej Isakovic (Serbia), Over the rainbow - AFP
Xavier Bonilla (Spain), Thanks halo – DPPI Images
Jose luis Méndez Fernández (Spain), Extreme MTB - Canarias Foto Profesional (Instagram)
David Ramos (Spain), Colorful jump - Getty Images
Jesus Robledo Blanco (Spain), Eyes - Jesus Robledo (Instagram) | Motorbike Magazine
Stefan Wermuth (Switzerland), Underwater action - Reuters
Hassan Wamwayi (Uganda), Tony Omondi leaps - @hwamwayi (Twitter)
Andrew Boyers (UK), The king - Action Images / Reuters
Clive Brunskill (UK), Flying high - Getty Images
Andy Couldridge (UK), Derek Chisora vs Kubrat Pulev - Reuters
Mike Egerton (UK), Rhythmic Gymnastics | Horseracing - PA Media
Paul Ellis (UK), Ribbon eyes - AFP
Tim Goode (UK), Zhou Guanyu crashes at the British Grand Prix - PA Media
Richard Heathcote (UK), Industrial diving - Getty Images
Clive Mason (UK), High kick - Getty Images
Hannah Mckay (UK), Balance beam - Reuters
Jonathan Moscrop (UK), Foglight - The Guardian
Martin Rickett (UK), Splashdown - PA Media
Justin Setterfield (UK), Commonwealth Games Mountain Bike Crash - Getty Images
Lee Smith (UK), First blood - Action Images / Reuters
Ben Stansall (UK), Guanyu Halo | Guanyu Halo - AFP
John Walton (UK), Flying into the crowd - PA Media
Edward Whitaker (UK), Muddy jockey in action at Lingfield in the UK - Racing Post
James Williamson (UK), Fan punches a forest player - AMA

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Following this shortlist, we will announce the top 10 and subsequently the finalists.

The final ceremony will take place in Seoul on May 9, 2023.

Stay tuned for the rest of the shortlists!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.