Third voting stage: Top 10 announced!

  • April 09, 2023

LAUSANNE, April 10, 2023 – The AIPS Sport Media Awards are ready to announce the Top 10 nominees of the categories competing in the 2022 edition. Congratulations to all the selected works! The road to sports media excellence is one step closer.

THIRD VOTING STAGE This third voting stage was exclusively carried out by the AIPS Sport Media Awards Jury members (composed of 12 respected members of the media landscape representing the five continents) who, after thorough and careful deliberation, narrowed down the shortlisted works and voted for their preferred choices.

Categories are as follows: Photography Sport Action, Photography Portfolio, Writing Best Column, Writing Best Colour Piece, Video Short Feature, Video Athlete Profile, Video Documentary, Audio, plus the special categories for the Under 30s: Young Reporters Writing, Young Reporters Photography and Young Reporters Broadcasting.

In the next days, the Top 10 will be published on the AIPS Media and AIPS Sport Media Awards websites. All works will be listed in alphabetical order of the surname.

SPECTACULAR QUALITY The prestigious AIPS Sport Media Awards, now running in a fifth edition, received 1830 submissions from 138 different countries, revealing incredible creativity and diversity, and sending a powerful message of hope in the face of challenges, especially after the repercussions of the Covid-19 pandemic and conflict zones where sport can also mean hope.

JUDGING PROCESS The Awards judging process began in December, involving a panel of 4 specialists, 24 EC members and 12 Jury members, whose average ratings resulted in the longlists, selecting approximately 20% of the works received (1st stage).

The EC members narrowed down the selected works into a shortlist of candidates. Each member was granted a number of votes depending on the category. The works with the most total votes are included in the shortlist (2nd stage).

The third and fourth voting stages are carried out by the Jury - 12 respected members from the sports media industry representing the five continents - that selected first the top 10 (finalists) and then will choose the top 3 (podium nominees).

Finally, one day before the ceremony, which will take place in Seoul, Republic of Korea in May 2023, a final voting stage takes place and the results remain secret until the announcement.

CONTINENTAL WINNERS After the final ceremony, the Awards will also publish the Continental rankings per category, with the highest-rated works in Africa, The Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania.

For more information on the Judging process, we invite you to read the Rules at

Stay tuned for more information.


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.