Longlist announcement for Video Documentary 2023

  • March 18, 2024

LAUSANNE, March 15, 2024 - The AIPS Sport Media Awards are pleased to announce the longlist for the Video Documentary category.

The longlist represents the first judging stage and is based on the average ratings of the AIPS panel of specialists, the Executive Committee members and the members of the Jury.

Participants with two submissions in the longlist can find both listed side by side. Here are the selected works, in alphabetical order of country:

Disclaimer: All names and information have been published as we have received them, for any corrections please contact us at info@aipsmedia.com or send us a direct message on social media @aipsmedia.


Omar & Zoheir Boudi (Algeria), A birth in pain (Women's football 1-0 Terrorism) | The martyrs of Algerian sport - Echorouk TV Algeria

Adel Yacef (Algeria), Mirror reflecting teams and national teams - Chaine - Jeel Dz

Mariano Amiune (Argentina), Ornella: knocking down social prejudices pursuing her Olympic dream | Playing Fields - Olympic Channel

David Mark, Hannah Meagher and Tom Hancock (Australia), "Life sentence of trauma": The investigation into serial paedophile, Stephen Mitchell. - ABC

Karoline Rath-zobernig (Austria), Harnessing the power of the menstrual cycle - ORF

Noel Coser (Brazil), Pelé: Through the Eyes of a Child - Globo TV

Luis Gustavo Machado (Brazil), Brazilian soccer scouts | Catharsis - Globo TV

Alison Mayer (Brazil), The incredible Galicia street soccer cup - Globo TV

Stanimira Atanasova (Bulgaria), The other champions: "A letter to you" - bTV Media Group

Tsvetanka Gagarova - Georgieva (Bulgaria), Champions X 2 - Nova TV

Phyllis Ellis (Canada), Category: Woman - Proximity Films

Miguel Vergara (Chile), Gol a la memoria. Historia, Pasión y muerte en el Estadio Nacional - 32 Cascos Content Lab

Jieni Cheng (China), As the curtain rise - ChinaMediaGroup

Qian Sun (China), Why Chinese women outshine men in football - Deutsche Welle

Nicklas Vinde (Denmark), Dare to Rise in the EHF Champions League - EHF

Manuel Diaz (Dominican Republic), The Case of Fraidel Liriano - VTV channel 32

Jürgen Schmidt (Germany), Das teuflische Wunder vom Betzenberg - der 1. FC Kaiserslautern wird als Aufsteiger Deutscher Fußbal - ARD-Mediathek

Márta Bényei (Hungary), A Nemzet Aranyai (Golden Legends) - National Film Institute

Andras Daniel Keri (Hungary), A Calcio Titkai /Secrets of Calcio - Sport TV Hungary

Annesha Ghosh (India), The Women's Cricket Revolution - The Financial Times

Vandna Vijay (India), The game-changers of Indian lawn bowls - BBC INDIA

Moses Wakhisi (Kenya), Doping Demons in Kenya - Standard Media Group- KTN NEWS

Julia Sartorio (New Zealand), Justin's Legacy - TVNZ

Krzysztof Smajek (Poland), "Sędzia wróg" [The Ref's the Enemy] - Sport.pl / Gazeta.pl

Ricardo Amorim (Portugal), "Coração que vê" (Heart that sees) - Porto Canal

Diogo Oliveira (Portugal), “A gentle drop in the ocean” (uma leve gota no mar) | Football’s cradle (O Berço das Quatro Linhas) - Sport TV Portugal

Vladimir Pajić (Serbia), How did we fall in love with streetball? - Videostroj

Pablo Tejeda Rodilla (Spain), Power: El Origen - PlaytheUNIT (Unedisa Telecomunicaciones)

Diego Zarzosa (Spain), Marca Personal TUDN - Televisa Univision

Daniel Grefve (Sweden), LIV eller Död? - SVT (Swedish Television)

Volodymyr Mula / Alex Gale (Ukraine / UK), Football Must Go On - TeleProstir Studio

Serhii Zakharchenko (Ukraine), We are the defensive line. Ukrainian players of American football at the war - JSC "Public Broadcasting Company of Ukraine"

Rob Harris (UK), Power Game: The Story Of Qatar 2022 - Sky News

Edward Knowles (UK), HEAVY METAL: Women's Weightlifting in a Palestinian Refugee Camp - Tribeca Film Festival

Louis Myles (UK), Mighty Penguins - Meadow Lark

Cory Mull (USA), San Elizario XC: Una Forma De Vida - FloSports

Amged Al-arhabi (Yemen), Touch line - The suffering of a Yemeni player - YouTube


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.